Skip to product information
1 of 2

Mao Miyamoto

Middle ear: Sagittal section (Latin)

Middle ear: Sagittal section (Latin)

This sagittal section (medial view) of the middle ear (auris media) provides a better view of the three ossicula auditus, their parts and their ligaments. The malleus consists of a caput, collum, processus anterior, processus lateralis and manubrium mallei. It is suspended via three ligaments: the lig. superius, lig. anterius and lig. laterale mallei (the former of which is not seen on this view). The incus consists of a corpus, crus breve, crus longum and processus lenticularis incudis. It is suspended by two ligaments: lig. superius incudis and lig. posterius incudis. The stapes consists of a caput, crus anterius, crus posterius and basis stapedis; it is suspended via the lig. anulare stapedis (not shown). In addition, the m. tensor tympani is clearly seen on this view, running through the semicanalis tensoris tympani of the os temporale across the processus cochleariformis which acts as a pulley for this muscle. This view also provides a visual of the m. stapedius, which attaches on the collum stapedis.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
231.91 KB
2 MP