Skip to product information
1 of 2

Paul Kim

Thalamic nuclei (English)

Thalamic nuclei (English)

This illustration shows the thalamus with its nuclei highlighted in different colors for easier interpretation. The thalamus is mostly comprised of gray matter that is separated into three main groups of nuclei by thin bands of white matter called the internal medullary lamina. The three main groups include the anterior group (highlighted in purple), lateral group (highlighted in pink) and medial group (highlighted in orange) of nuclei. Functionally, all these groups of nuclei can be categorized into a single group of nuclei called the relay nuclei. Relay nuclei modulate and relay sensory input to a specific location in the cerebral cortex. Apart from the relay nuclei, the two additional groups of nuclei are the intralaminar nuclei of thalamus (highlighted in gray) and midline thalamic nuclei. Finally, the thalamus has a reticular nucleus (highlighted in blue). The reticular nucleus envelops each lateral thalamus and serves to regulate the activity of the thalamus.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
142.44 KB
2 MP