Skip to product information
1 of 2

Paul Kim

Subarachnoid cisterns of the brain (Sagittal) (Latin)

Subarachnoid cisterns of the brain (Sagittal) (Latin)

The tentorium cerebelli divides the cisternae subarachnoidales into cisternae supratentoriae and cisternae infratentoriae. The cisternae supratentoriae seen from this sagittal perspective include the cisterna sulci centralis, cisterna pericallosa, the cisternae basales (cisterna laminae terminalis, cisterna hypophysialis and cisterna chiasmatica) and the cisterna fissura transversa. The cisternae infratentoriae include the cisterna premedullaris and cisterna prepontina as well as the large cisterna cerebellomedullaris posterior (cisterna magna). Some cisternae are located at the level of the tentorium cerebelli and therefore contain both supratentoriae and infratentoriae components/parts. These cisterns include the cisterna interpeduncularis, cisterna quadrigeminalis, cisterna superior cerebelli and cisterna ambiens (not shown). CSF circulates within these cisternae subarachnoidales towards the larger sinus venosi durales (namely the sinus sagittalis superior) and lamina cribrosa of the os ethmoideum.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
259.04 KB
2 MP