Skip to product information
1 of 2

Paul Kim

Subarachnoid cisterns of the brain (Sagittal) (English)

Subarachnoid cisterns of the brain (Sagittal) (English)

The tentorium cerebelli divides the subarachnoid cisterns into supratentorial and infratentorial cisterns. Supratentorial cisterns seen from this sagittal perspective include the cistern of central sulcus, pericallosal cistern, the basal cisterns (cistern of lamina terminalis, hypophyseal and chiasmatic cistern) and the cistern of transverse fissure. The infratentorial cisterns include the premedullary and prepontine cisterns as well as the large posterior cerebellomedullary cistern (cisterna magna). Some cisterns are located at the level of the tentorium cerebelli and therefore contain both supra and infratentorial components/parts. These cisterns include the interpeduncular, quadrigeminal, superior cerebellar and ambient cistern (not shown). CSF circulates within these subarachnoid cisterns towards the larger dural venous sinuses (namely the superior sagittal sinus) and cribriform plate of the ethmoid bone.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
248.34 KB
2 MP