Skip to product information
1 of 2

Begoña Rodriguez

Sacral plexus (Latin)

Sacral plexus (Latin)

The nn. spinales L4-S5 are shown on the right hand side, each giving a ramus anterior and ramus posterior. The plexus is formed by the rami anteriores of the nn. spinales L4-S4, while the S5 root (radix) joins the coccygeal (Co) root (radix) to form the plexus coccygeus. The rami anteriores of nn. spinales further split into divisiones anteriores and divisiones posteriores and numerous branches arise from each division. They then join together to form the nerves of the plexus sacralis, which can be divided into rami anteriores and posteriores. The rami anteriores are the n. musculi quadrati femoris, n. obturatoris interni, n. pudendalis, n. levatoris ani and n. musculi coccygei. The rami posteriores are the n. musculi piriformis, n. gluteus superior, n. cutaneus posterior femoris, n. cutaneus perforans and nn. splanchnici pelvici. Continuations of nn. spinales L4-S3 converge together to form a single terminal branch (ramus terminalis), known as the n. ischiadicus. It splits into the n. tibialis and n. fibularis communis to supply structures of the thigh, leg and foot.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
202.69 KB
2 MP