Skip to product information
1 of 2

Paul Kim

Regions of the abdomen (Latin)

Regions of the abdomen (Latin)

The most common way to divide the abdomen is by using two vertical and two horizontal planes. The vertical planes are the lineae medioclaviculares dextra et sinistra that pass from the middle of the clavicula downwards to the middle of the ligamentum inguinale. The first horizontal plane is the planum subcostale which runs at the level of the lower edge of the 10th cartilago costalis. The second horizontal plane is the planum intertuberculare, which passes through the tuberculi of the cristae iliacae and the body of the vertebrae lumbalis 5. These planes divide the abdomen into nine regions; regio hypochondriaca dextra et sinistra, regio epigastrica, regio umbilicalis, regio abdominis lateralis dextra et sinistra, regio hypogastrica, and regio inguinalis dextra et sinistra. Another way to divide the abdomen is with one vertical and one horizontal line. The vertical line runs along the midline of the abdomen and the horizontal line along the abdomen at the level of the umbilicus. These divide the abdomen into the quadrans superior dexter, quadrans superior sinister, quadrans inferior dexter and quadrans inferior sinister.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
110.94 KB
1.7 MP