Skip to product information
1 of 2

Yousun Koh

Main bones of the head (English)

Main bones of the head (English)

The braincase (neurocranium) is made up of 8 bones which include (anterior to posterior): the frontal bone, ethmoid bone, sphenoid bone, two parietal bones, two temporal bones, and the occipital bone. The facial skeleton (viscerocranium) is made up of 13 bones which include: two nasal bones, two zygomatic bones, two maxillae, two lacrimal bones, two palatine bones, two inferior nasal conchae and vomer. Finally, we have the mandible, which is technically not part of the viscerocranium, however is sometimes still counted as such by some references. Also visible here are the three auditory ossicles of the middle ear.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
110.51 KB
1.3 MP