Skip to product information
1 of 2

Begoña Rodriguez

Lumbar plexus (Latin)

Lumbar plexus (Latin)

The plexus lumbalis is formed by the rr. anteriores of nervi spinales L1-L4. Six terminal branches arise from the plexus: n. iliohypogastricus, n. ilioinguinalis, n. genitofemoralis, n. obturatorius, n. cutaneus lateralis femoris and n. femoralis. Occasionally a n. obturatorius accessories can be present. The n. iliohypogastricus and n. ilioinguinalis arise from n. spinalis L1; they supply motor innervation to the anterolateral abdominal wall and cutaneous innervation to the lower abdomen and regiones inguinalis/genitalis. The n. genitofemoralis and n. obturatorius arise from the divisiones anteriores of anterior rami of spinal nerves L1-L2 and L2-L4, respectively; the n. genitofemoralis provides cutaneous innervation to the regio superior femoris and regio genitalis, while the n. obturatorius provides cutaneous and muscular innervation to the regio medialis medialis (compartimentum adductorium). The n. cutaneus lateralis femoris and n. femoralis arise from the divisones posteriores of the rr. anteriores of nervi spinales L2-L3 and L2-L4, respectively; these supply cutaneous innervation to the regio femoris (except for the posterior part) and regio medialis cruris, while the n. femoralis also provides muscular innervation to the m. iliacus and compartimentum anterius femoris.
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
174.53 KB
2 MP