Skip to product information
1 of 2

Begoña Rodriguez

Arteries of the nasal cavity (English)

Arteries of the nasal cavity (English)

The lateral wall and nasal septum of the nasal cavity receive arterial supply from five main arteries: the anterior and posterior ethmoidal arteries (ophthalmic artery), the sphenopalatine and greater palatine arteries (maxillary artery) and the septal branch of the superior labial artery (facial artery). The anterior and posterior ethmoidal and sphenopalatine arteries divide into lateral and septal branches as they enter the nasal cavity, while the greater palatine artery enters the nasal cavity via the incisive canal of the hard palate. The septal branch of the superior labial artery does not give off any named branches and terminates by anastomosing with the anterior septal branches of the anterior ethmoidal artery. These arteries collectively supply the ethmoidal and frontal sinuses, the roof of the nasal cavity as well as the mucosa of the nasal conchae, the nasal meatuses and the nasal septum. All 5 arteries anastomose in an arterial plexus located in the anterior nasal septum termed the Kiesselbach area. This region is a common site for nose bleeds (epistaxis).
  • Science

    License for academic purposes such as theses, research publishing and the scientific discourse

  • Education

    License for educational purposes, live teaching, presentations, handouts and exam papers

  • Commerce

    License for commercial purposes, editorial use, broadcast and video, website and social media

  • Please visit our License page to find out which license is best for you.
  • The extended usage unlocks additional ways to use our illustrations. Check the license terms for more info.

Regular price $7.56 USD
Regular price Sale price $7.56 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details
Content type
File size
294.69 KB
2 MP